Margaret Lackey Offering

Mississippi Baptists: Margaret Lackey State Missions Offering

 

The Margaret Lackey Offering for State Missions is the primary funding stream for key mission efforts in many different areas: Garaywa Camp and Conference Center in Clinton, Central Hills Retreat near West, Missions Volunteers, Church Multiplication, Community Ministry, Disaster Relief, Criminal Justice Ministries, Collegiate Outreach, Christian Women’s/Men’s Job Corps, Cross-Cultural Evangelism, Language/Deaf Ministry, and Port Ministry.

The Margaret Lackey Offering for State Missions is like the Cooperative Program’s little sister, and adds value to what Mississippi Baptists are doing together in missions, church leadership training, and compassionate evangelism. The offering helps position us to fulfill the Great Commission appeal of Acts 1:8.

2018 Resources

Click to skip to form.

Videos

Click a title below to view the corresponding video.

Print Resources

Poster
Offering Guide
Offering Envelopes
Small Group Study Guides
Weekly Children’s Activities

Extra Children’s Activities

Margaret Lackey Offering – Mississippi Baptist State Missions

Leading Your Congregation to Participate in State Missions

  • Lead your church to pray for and give generously to the Margaret Lackey Offering for State Missions.
  • Empower a state missions coordinator to plan your congregation’s emphasis.
  • Look over the 2018 resources and download or order materials as needed.
  • Choose a calendar date between August and October for your offering emphasis.
  • Set an offering goal and challenge your members to respond generously.
  • Display posters in prominent places throughout your church.
  • Distribute Offering Guides and offering envelopes to every member.
  • Show the Margaret Lackey Offering for State Missions videos during church worship services and other ministry times, such as midweek prayer meetings.
  • Prepare copies of the children’s activity sheets for use in children’s classes.
  • Promote the offering in your church newsletter and during pre-service emphases.
  • Celebrate the grace of God and the power of Christ to include us to “Tell This People.”

2018 Mississippi State Missions Emphasis

“He said, ‘Go and tell this people…’” Isaiah 6:9a

Offering Goal: $2.1 Million

2018 Speaker’s List

Angie Boydstun — Aboydstun@mbcb.org — 601-392-3294
Barri Shirley — bshirley@mbcb.org — 601-292-3240
Beverly Bridges — bbridges@mbcb.org — 601.292.3231
Billy & Rebecca Williams — rebeccaw1942@gmail.com — 601-898-0579 or 601-832-6572
Chris Burrows — iccbsu@nexband.com — 662-213-0459
Cindy Heimbach — cindyheimbach@msn.com — 662-417-3944
Jedd Moak — jeddmoak@gmail.com — 601-748-5939
Jennie Taylor — jtaylor@mbcb.org — 662-275-7189
John W. Henry — jwhenry42@gmail.com — 601-508-0293
Johnny Ervin — jervin@mbcb.org — 601-292-3224
Ken Rhodes — krhodes@mbcb.org — 601.292.3231
Kris Walters — krisman.walters@usm.edu — 601-297-4507
Laura Farmer — Missions.npbc@gmail.com — 6019167893
Lloyd Lunceford — llunceford@mbcb.org — 601-310-1552
Maria Teel — mteel@mbcb.org — 601-292-3201
Mark Bowman — m_bowman@bellsouth.net — 601-201-2296
Michael Ball — michael_ball24@yahoo.com — 662-323-5761
Mike Ray — mray@mbcb.org — 601-292-3398
Molly Hopper — mhopper@mbcb.org — 601-292-3299
Philip Price — AMD@goJCBA.com — 228 761-6003
Rebekah Peavy — rpeavy@mbcb.org — 601-292-3209
Rena Register — renar1976@yahoo.com — 601-649-8114
Roddy Reed — rreed@garaywa.org — 601-924-7034
Shane McGivney — smcgivney@mbcb.org — 601-292-3339
Shane Thrash — sthrash@mbcb.org — 662-289-9730
Steve Jackson — revsjackson@yahoo.com — 601-906-9800
Tammy Anderson — Tanderson@mbcb.org — 601-292-3323
Tom Kilpatrick — Tkilpat@msn.com — 769-972-8223

Who is Margaret Lackey?

MARGARET LACKEY AND THE STATE MISSION OFFERING

Margaret McRae Lackey was born in Copiah County, Mississippi, on October 24,1858, to James and Elizabeth Lackey. She was the fifth of nine children. Upon graduation from Hillman College in Clinton, she taught in several county schools and at Lea Female College in Summit. Margaret later returned to Clinton so she could reconnect with her alma mater, Hillman College.

Margaret actively stressed the values of women’s mission organizations in Baptist churches. She

loved learning about missions and taught the young children in her church to love missions as well. She was active in the Mississippi Woman’s Missionary Union (WMU), and her name appeared frequently in annual WMU meeting procedures.

In 1912, Miss Lackey was employed as the first salaried corresponding secretary of Mississippi WMU. Brilliant in intellectual gifts and consecrated to the Master’s service, she entered eagerly into the work. Funds were scarce during those early days. The yearly budget for Mississippi WMU was $900. Margaret received a salary of $50 per month and $25 per month for “running expenses of the work.”

When Margaret assumed the duties of Corresponding Secretary, she had a vision of what might be accomplished through more organized efforts of the women of the state. She likewise had faith in the part women played in kingdom work. With that vision and that faith, she well served Mississippi WMU and missions for nearly nineteen years. ln December of 1930, at the age of seventy-two, she retired.

In retirement, Margaret was associated with Mississippi Baptist Hospital (now Mississippi Baptist Medical Center) in Jackson for more than 15 years. It was said of her that she spoke words of cheer to the sick, consoled the suffering, prayed for the dying, and “made for herself a place in the daily life of the institution that only a person with a great soul can fill.” Margaret Lackey died and was buried in June of 1948, just a few days before her 90th birthday. During

her funeral, the flags over the Mississippi State Capitol in Jackson and Jackson City Hall were flown at half-mast to honor her life of service.

The offering, which bears Miss Lackey’s name, began in 1903. It was at that time the Mississippi WMU set aside an annual day in the interest of state missions. The purpose of the emphasis was to “familiarize women with the conditions of our state – social, racial, moral, and religious.” In 1917, the State Missions Day became the Week of Prayer for State Missions. ln 1935, five years after her retirement, the offering was given the name, “Margaret Lackey State Mission Offering,” to honor the one who had led WMU so valiantly.

The offering has expanded in ways Miss Lackey would approve. The first state mission offering received in 1903 was $294.38. In 2015, the amount given to the Margaret Lackey Offering for State Missions was $2,154,549. The offering has expanded in its outreach, funding ministries in our own backyard as well as sending Mississippians throughout the world for Christ. The offering sustains ministries such as church planting, children’s camps, and missionary mobilization. The offering trains and mobilizes volunteers in disaster relief, criminal justice, literacy, and international outreach. The offering adds to and works hand-in-hand with the evangelistic and benevolent ministries funded through the Cooperative Program.

About Margaret Lackey

Margaret Lackey grew up doing what most girls her age did. She played games, went to school, and did chores at home. She attended Hillman College in Clinton, where she studied to be a teacher, and later taught for many years.

Miss Lackey liked learning about missions. She taught young children in her church to love missions. She also enjoyed writing poems and mission study books. In 1912, Margaret Lackey was hired as the first paid leader of Mississippi Woman’s Missionary Union.

ln 1903, a special day was chosen as the time to remember state missions each year. On that day,

women would learn about missions needs in Mississippi. Today, we call this special time during the month of September, the Season of Prayer for Mississippi Baptist State Missions.

Miss Lackey retired as corresponding secretary of Mississippi WMU in 1930. Five years later, the offering was named in her honor as the Margaret Lackey State Mission Offering.