Skip to main content

Churches tapped for excellence in media

2012 Witnessing Through Media Winners photo

MISSISSIPPI WITNESSING THROUGH MEDIA award winners (Photo by William Perkins)

Ministries marked by creativity

By William H. Perkins Jr.


Awards for excellence in Mississippi Baptist electronic media ministries were presented May 4 at the annual Witnessing Through Media Banquet at Colonial Heights Church in Ridgeland. Representatives from winning churches included (from left) Gene Neal, First Church, Quitman: Best Video Program/Church Musicals (Div. 1), for The Journey In Search of the King; Harry Medders, First Church, Brandon: Best Video Program/Worship Service (Div. 1), and Best Web Site (Div. 1); Sarah Hankins, Jeffrey Broome, and Zach Goodwin, First Church, Clinton: Best Video Program/Magazine (Div. 1) for SparkTV Season 2 Finale, Best Video Program/Music Video for The Champion, and Most Creative Use of Media for Spark TV Season 2 Finale; Damon Burgess, First Church, Jackson: Best Video Program/Church Musicals (Div. 2) for Carols By Candlelight 2011; Jerry Mixon, First Church, Ridgeland: Best Video Program/Promotional for LIFEGroups@FBCR.

The awards banquet each year is part of the larger Witnessing through Media Conference sponsored by Mississippi Baptists in Broadcasting, the Communications Services Department of the Mississippi Baptist Convention Board, and the Mississippi Cooperative Program. The keynote speaker at the 2012 banquet was Mike Ebert, vice-president of communications for the North American Mission Board of the Southern Baptist Convention in Alpharetta, Ga.

Workshops presented at the 2012 Witnessing Through Media Conference included Fundamentals of Camera Operation, Sound Advice Basic and Advanced, Getting Started on the Web, Web Site Design Advanced, Lighting for Worship Basic and Advanced, Getting Started in Media Ministry, Creative Production Techniques, and Projection Systems/Worship Software.

For more information on Mississippi Baptists in Broadcasting and other services available to Mississippi Baptist churches with electronic media ministries, contact Ian Richardson, Director, MBCB Communications Services Department, P.O. Box 530, Jackson, MS 39205-0530. Telephone: (601) 292-3378, or toll-free outside Jackson (800) 748-1651, ext. 378. E-mail:

View Mike Ebert video from the 2012 Conference